What Does the Planets Mean on Snapchat Plus


In the ever-evolving world of social media, Snapchat has consistently proven to be a unique platform, integrating fun and interactive features for its users. One of the recent additions that have caught the attention of users worldwide is Snapchat Planets. This article will delve into the fascinating world of Snapchat planets and explain what they mean.

Understanding Snapchat Plus

Snapchat Plus is a paid subscription service from Snapchat that offers its users a variety of exclusive, experimental, and pre-release features. This innovative service has introduced the concept of Snapchat planets, a feature that has become a favorite among users due to its unique way of determining friendship levels.

Introduction to Snapchat Planets

Snapchat planets are a fun and novel way to highlight your friendship with other users. This feature is part of Snapchat Plus and uses the order of the Solar System to represent friendships on the platform.

What do the Planets on Snapchat Represent?

Plants on snapchat plus represent interaction with friends and friendship level.

Interaction with Best Friends and Friends Badges

The feature can be accessed by selecting the gold-bordered ‘Best Friends’ or ‘Friends’ badges. You can find these badges on different Snapchat accounts if they are also subscribed to the premium service.

Role of Planets in Determining Friendship Levels

The ‘Best Friends’ badge signifies that you are one of each other’s closest friends, while the ‘Friends’ badge means you’re on their list of close friends, but not vice-versa. As for the planets, they symbolize your relationship with your friend. For instance, if you’re the sun and your friend is Mars, you’re their fourth closest friend.

How is the Order of Planets Determined on Snapchat?

The order of planets determined on Snapchat Plus are below:

Solar System Analogy

Snapchat has ingeniously used the order of the Solar System to depict friendships. Many users have found themselves looking up the order of the Solar System to understand where their friendship stands.

Each Friend Emoji Representing a Different Planet

Each Friend emoji on Snapchat represents a different planet, and these planets are listed in the order of the actual solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

Understanding the Snapchat Planets

Each planet on Snapchat, from Mercury to Neptune, signifies a different level of friendship, helping users understand and visualize their social interactions on the platform.

Significance of the Sun in Snapchat Planets

In the context of Snapchat planets, the sun holds a unique position. It can represent either you or your friend, and the other planets determine how close you are to each other.

How to Access Snapchat Planets

Snapchat Planets are accessible through the Friendship profile. Once you select any Friendship profile, the badges for ‘Best Friends’ and ‘Friends’ appear right below it, providing a unique representation of your friendship in the form of planets.

How to Get Snapchat Plus

Here are two options for you to get Snapchat Plus:

Cost of Snapchat Plus

Snapchat Plus, the premium subscription of Snapchat, costs $3.99 per month and offers a range of special features that allow you to personalize your Snapchat experience.

7-day Free Trial

If you’re curious about Snapchat Plus and its features but are unsure about committing to a subscription, Snapchat offers a 7-day free trial. To start the free trial, go to your Profile, tap on the Snapchat+ banner card at the top, and choose a subscription.


Snapchat continues to innovate and captivate its users with features like Snapchat Planets, making social interactions more fun and meaningful. Users can enjoy these exclusive features and personalize their Snapchat experience by subscribing to Snapchat Plus.

Leave a Comment